I watch your frequent Wine O’Clock posts on Facebook, and I swing between bemused fuck-whattery and abysmal despair.

Look, technically, I shouldn’t be writing this – because it’s absolutely your right to post whatever you damn well please on Facebook, and you really shouldn’t give a damn about those who sit in silent judgement of you. Fuck them, anyway. Fuck me, for being so Judgy McJudgerson.

Still…I often wonder how you would react if a drug user started posting Meth O’Clock posts. Line O’Clock posts. Weed O’Clock posts. Would you call them out for being a fucking junkie? Do you consider yourself a fucking drunk?

I think these things. I think these things a lot. It disturbs me – because I really don’t need to be distracted from dealing with my own addiction, wondering if you’re losing control. I forget, sometimes, that the only person I can fix, is me, and that trying to control you, or your substance use/abuse/dependency (choose applicable…) is part of the old way of thinking and engaging with the world. The old, broken way.

Still…do you KNOW how you sound…relentlessly posting your inability to make it through a week without getting out of it on wine? DO you get out of it on wine – or is this just a light, meaningless bit of noise otherwise parading as Facebook content? I don’t know. I don’t know why it bothers me so much, that you can make such lighthearted jokes about something that wrecks lives and families.

Maybe I need to light up. Lighten up…lighten up…not light up…yes…important distinction, there. Maybe I just need to get my ass to a group meeting again, soon. Because while you may only be saying “Wine O’Clock!’ what I am hearing is this:

wine collage

I don’t need these shit thoughts running through my head. There’s already too much noise. Too much rage. Too much relentless, ceaseless, never-ending pounding away of ‘LIFE!LIFE!LIFE!SOBRIETY!SENSIBILITY!LIFE!DO!MORE!BE!MORE!SOBRIETY!GO!GO!’ – all the time. ALL the fucking time. At night. When I am alone. In the office, when it is quiet. In the silence, always.

It’s no good.

© Dave Luis 2014. All Rights Reserved.

4 thoughts on “Whine O’Clock

  1. I m guilty of posting some of those and I do it without a thought to other people and their battles. Thank you Dave for being so open about how you feel about it!!! I will be more sensitive to this in the future. You are such an inspiration to me and I really respect your brutal honesty.

    • Thanks for your kind words, Karen! I really was in two minds about posting this, because whatever someone wants to post on FB is really their right and I have no right to demand they change anything, but I just felt these posts becoming a flood on FB, and wanted to show what it sounds like if you compare the drive for wine o’clock to the same driving need to get high that a drug user or addict feels…

  2. I’m amazed, I must say. Seldom do I encounter a blog that’s both educative and engaging, and without a doubt, you’ve hit the nail on the head. The issue is an issue that not enough folks are speaking intelligently about. I am very happy I stumbled across this during my hunt for something regarding this.

    • Thank you for the words of encouragement – this post was one that polarized so many people who either agreed that the glib flood of contrived humour masked a burgeoning dependency issue, or who protested that I took these posts too seriously. It was a lesson in tolerance for myself to accept both opinions are valid for those who hold them, respectively.

Leave a Reply

